Slater's Directory 1894

This was was the largest Slater's directory ever published. The location in relation to the nearest railway station together with population statistics from the 1891 Census of Ireland as well as a brief geographical and topographical description was provided for all towns and villages. The Directory provides the names and addresses of the principal private residents, those engaged in commercial and agricultural activity, and location of religious, commercial and public institutions:

"Kilnamona, a parish in co. Clare, barony of Inchiquin, union of Ennis, 4 miles north west of Ennis station on the Waterford and Limerick railway, containing 24 townlands. Here are the two ruins of two castles and of a church; and there are five lakes. There is a Catholic church. The parish is noted for its butter and dairy produce. The area comprises 5, 418 acres; the population in 1791 was 763. Letters from Ennis arrive at 5.25 a.m.; dispatched at 7 p.m.the nearest money order and telegraph office is at Ennis".

Postmaster: Owen Hegarty

Schoolmaster: Michael Keating

Schoolmistress: Mrs. P. Keating

Clergy: McInerney, Rev. Patrick, P P, Kilnamona House


Christian Name Surname Occupation
John Cahir Carpenter and Builder
John McMahon Bricklayer and Stonecutter, Shallee Quarry House
Jack Moore Blacksmith


Christian Name Surname Townland
John Barry Ballyashea
M Barry Ballyashea
Patrick Commane Ballyknock
John Considine Cooguquid
Margaret Cullinan Magowna
T Cullinan Cooguquid
John Cullinan Leckaun
Ralph Cullinan Leckaun
James Galvin Toureen
Thomas Galvin Caherbannagh
John Greene Leckaun
Michael Senior Griffin Cloongowna
Michael Junior Griffin Cloongowna
John Griffin Cloongowna
Michael Halley Islandgar
James Hegarty Ballyasheea
Owen Hegarty Ballyasheea
Patrick Hegarty Ballyasheea
John G Keane Ballyasheea
Myles Senior Keane Caherbannagh
Myles Junior Keane Caherbannagh
Patrick Leahy Leckaun
Michael Lyons Leckaun
Michael McDonnell Cloongowna
Thomas McDonnell Cloongowna
Thomas McDonnell Soheen
Mathew McGrath Mweelagarraun
Thomas Mahony Clooncaurha
Patrick Mescall Leckaun
Thomas Monahan Ballyashea
Denis Neylan Leckaun
Michael Senior Neylon Ballyknock
Michael Junior Neylon Ballyknock
Thomas Neylan Croaghaun
Daniel O'Keeffe Toureen
James O'Keeffe Toureen
John O'Keeffe Toureen
John O'Loughlin Ballyashea
Connor O'Neill Leckaun
Patrick O'Shea Cloongowna
Michael Sullivan Croaghaun
John Talty Ballyknock